Uncategorized

Self Tanner Review & Top Pick!

So today I am going to give you a review of some self tanners that are currently on the market. We have had a few days of sunshine over the last couple of days and I have dragged out my tans again!

The four that I will be reviewing for you today are the St Tropez Bronzing Mousse Self Tan, Loving Tan Deluxe Bronzing Mousse, Le Tan Fast Tan & Model Co Super Tan so hopefully there is something that will meet everyone’s needs/budget.

I really prefer to use a mousse self tanner as they are the easiest to apply and in my opinion give the best overall result.

St Tropez Bronzing Mousse Self Tan
Probably the most commonly used tan on the market, this a great tan that comes with a pretty hefty price tag. There are a magnitude of options when it comes to St Tropez – gradual tanners, mousse, spray, oil & express. I tend to use the original in the white bottle or the dark in the black & blue bottle depending on how dark I need my tan (just a note the dark is quite deep so if you are new or a bit hesitant I would try the original tan first). When applied with a tanning mitt this tan gives a really nice coverage with a green based colour meaning you won’t look like an oompa loompa once it develops. It also has a really nice dark guide colour so you can see where you’re applying it. I would suggest being very careful with the product around dry patches (knees, elbows etc.) as it can cling. The two negatives I find with this product is that it does tend to go patchy when wearing off instead of just fading and it does have quite a strong ‘fake tan’ smell.

Overall this is a great tan with a really nice colour.

Average time lasted: 5-7 days
Overall rating: 4/5
Colour: average to very dark
Price: $39.99 (120ml)

IMG_0927

Loving Tan Deluxe Bronzing Mousse
This is hands down my favourite self tanner! Made in Australia with all natural ingredients I just can’t seem to look past this product! Again I use a mitt to apply this product and it goes on so smoothly & evenly. Because of the green base it leaves the tan looking very natural & olive. It almost has a coconut based smell which takes away some of the ‘fake tan’ smell however it does still linger a little. The other thing I love about this product is that it fades instead of flaking off which means it leaves you with a really nice tan the whole time.

Average time lasted: 7-10 days
Overall: rating 5/5
Colour: dark
Price: $29.99 (120ml)

IMG_0930

Le Tan Fast Tan
I have only just recently tried this product and I still have mixed feelings towards it. It states on the packaging that it is green based and they are not wrong – when putting it on I almost felt like I was putting on green war paint. I won’t complain though as a green based self tanner is better than an orange based tanner. When applying the product I used a mitt again (consistency is the key!!) and the smell was the second thing that hit me, it has a very fake vanilla scent which is slightly overwhelming. The guide colour upon application is very faint (barely visible) which makes it difficult to see where you are applying the product, however there is not too much to worry about as the colour is VERY faint! I would definitely need 2 layers of this next time (I only did 1 layer) as it was more a subtle glow than a deep bronze colour. I will admit though, there was absolutely no streaking and it applied almost perfectly which I really loved. Overall I would like to experiment a little more but I was very impressed with this product.

Average time lasted: 3-5 days
Overall rating: 3/5
Colour: very light (1 shade darker than natural skin tone with one layer)
Price: $13.49 (110ml)

IMG_0929

Model Co Fast Tan
Now this tan is designed as an ‘express tan’ which is supposed to develop over 2 hours….. I question this. I know that a lot of people do love them however I am very pale and like to look someone brown so for me an express tan doesn’t ever work that well. I have however left this tan to develop for approx. 8 hours while I slept and the colour is really nice. It is probably more orange based than any of the others mentioned however it does develop into a nice deep bronze colour. The smell again is quite strong while still developing and it can look somewhat patchy after a couple of days. Considering the price point & availability of this product I really think that it has overall a great value.

Average time lasted: 5-7 days
Overall rating: 3.5/5
Colour: average to dark
Price: $15.00 (100ml)

IMG_0926
Special Mention: Dove Gradual Tan
Now I understand that this isn’t a self tanner, however it is worth mentioning as a great alternative. The Dove gradual tan is an option for people who don’t want a very dark tan, or for those who are looking to extend the life of their original tan. It goes on like a moisturiser (no visible guide colour) and then as it is on your skin it slowly develops into a subtle glow/colour. There are two options within the range; light/medium and medium/dark. I tend to use the medium/dark even though I have light skin as it has a darker colour pay off (still nothing like a self tanner). It is really great for those days that you just can’t be bothered completing a full tanning routine. I also like to use this to extend the life of my tan, normally on around day 3.

Average time lasted: 3-5 days
Overall rating: 4/5
Colour: very light subtle glow
Price: $10.99

IMG_0931

 

I hope you all have a great week and enjoy the sunshine while it is out and about.

xx Becca

Leave a Reply

