Beauty

Disappointing Products

My last post was my December favourites so I thought I would balance it out with a disappointing products post for the last week of December.

Please note that some of these products were not necessarily bad, they just didn’t meet the expectations that I had for them. I also must point out that it is only my opinion, I’m sure these products work well for others.

Nivea Q10 Day Cream with SPF15
I am normally a huge fan of the nivea products and when I realised this would eliminate the need for sunscreen and moisturiser each morning I thought I was onto a winner! Unfortunately while I have tried using this product for a while in different environments, I find that this just reacts against my skin each time and I cannot use it.

IMG_1504.JPG

Rosehip Night Creme
I tend to stick to argan oil and maracuja oil, however I did try the Rosehip brand due to a few good things I had heard about Rosehip oil. I have to say I wouldn’t waste my time or money. This night creme is incredibly thick and uneven to use. It felt really cakey on my skin and it didn’t leave me feeling hydrated at all.

 

IMG_1506

Too Faced Melted Lipstick, Nude
I am going to start this one by saying I am a huge fan of the Too Faced Melted Lipsticks in general, I just wasn’t a fan of this colour. If you have darker skin tones this will look beautiful on you, however if you have pale skin like myself I would avoid the nude colour and go for a brighter shade, such as Peony.

IMG_1505

Rimmel Wake Me Up Concealer
I understand this is a controversial opinion however I have to say that I didn’t like this concealer for under my eyes as it creases very easily, even if it has been set.

IMG_1509

Bourgeois 123 Perfect Foundation
I think that the 123 Perfect CC Cream is my favourite base around (or at least one of them!) however this foundation does not live up to it’s cousins quality. The formula is very thick and uneven and it settles obviously into fine lines during the day. I would stick to the CC cream if you were looking at this option.

IMG_1507

The Body Shop Eye Definer
I was extremely excited to try this product that I received in my The Body Shop Advent Calendar this year as I had never tried any makeup from The Body Shop. I had heard great things about their makeup line however this product definitely did not live up to the hype. The colour was very light and the pencil was really tough to apply making it very difficult to work with. I would highly recommend the Rimmel Scandal Eyes pencil liner if you are looking for something similar.

IMG_1508

Covergirl Soft Bloom Mascara
A new release this year, however it did not live up to some of the other releases that have come to the market this year. This mascara does not offer volume or definition and I can barely tell the difference when I have used it.

IMG_1510

 

Thanks for reading everyone, have a lovely New Years wherever you are in the world x

Leave a Reply

