Beauty

Recent Beauty Purchases

Happy New Year. Welcome to the first week of 2016!

Over the recent holiday break I made a few sneaky purchases so I have shared and reviewed a few of these some new, some old favourites for you below.

Enjoy…

Bourjois Air Mat Foundation
I have always really liked the Bourgeois Foundations however I was hesitant to try this due to the matte formula. My advice would be to try it, even if you do have dry skin as it has a perfect formula that is not too matte and not at all drying. Overall it wears really well and feels really light on the skin with a medium to full coverage. My only tip would be that it does oxidise a bit so just be careful when finishing the rest of your makeup.

IMG_1521

Bareminerals Bareskin Serum Foundation
Sticking on the same foundation path, however to the other extreme. This foundation is a brightening formula with a hydrating serum so I would definitely not recommend for those with oily skin. This feels like moisturiser on the skin and has a really nice light to medium coverage, perfect for everyday use. It tends to last most of the day however instead of coming off cakey it just fades slightly which keeps it looking very natural. Another tip to just be careful when selecting a shade as they are designed to suit a number of skin undertones which means what shade you would normally select may be a slightly different one in this range.

IMG_1530

Cite London Paint Pot, Sugar Plum
I have heard a lot about Ciate so I had high hopes for this nail polish. The colour was beautiful however I did find it needed around 3 coats to build up a very strong colour. It lasted around 4 days on me with a top coat which is not too bad. Overall it was a nice polish, however I did get it on sale. I still can’t find anything that beats the Sally Hansen Miracle Gel Polishes for lasting power.

IMG_1523

Eyeko, Skinny Brush Mascara
This mascara is really fantastic. It makes your lashes look really black, defined and long which is amazing. The only negative I have for this is that it can be difficult to get off at the end of the day however that will not take away from how amazing the product looks, I promise you!

IMG_1529

Mecca Cosmetica Lip De Luscious
This came as part of a Christmas present which I was very happy about. I really like this lip balm, it is very moisturising that has SPF 25+ which is great for everyday use especially if you are going to be in the sun. It has a very subtle pink tint to it and smells great. It has definitely inspired me to try more Mecca Cosmetica products.

IMG_1528

Bourjois Healthy Balance Powder Foundation
This time a powder. As with all other Bourjois Foundations I have tried this powder is just as great. Not too mattefying on my skin but it does help set my foundation into place all day long. I like that it leaves you with a natural healthy glow even though it is a powder.

Hourglass Opaque Rouge Liquid Lipstick (Mini), Canvas
Margot Robbie wore the Hourglass Liquid Lipstick on the red carpet at the 2015 Oscar awards and everyone couldn’t stop talking about it so I had to try one out for myself. While I couldn’t justify spending $40 on a lipstick, I could spend $14 on the mini version very easily. To start with, the colour is a gorgeous nude/coral colour that just sits really nicely with my pale skin tone. The formula is a matte formula but not drying at all. Finally the applicator is really soft and flexible making it really easy to achieve the perfect defined lip.

IMG_1524

Thanks for reading, enjoy your first week of 2016 and remember if you have already broken your New Years Resolution…… that’s ok because there is always next year.

x Becca

 

 

One thought on “Recent Beauty Purchases

Leave a Reply

