Lifestyle

What’s in my carry on bag?

I hope everyone has had a lovely week so far!

In just under 2 weeks I will be making the 20+hour journey to the United States for a four week holiday and I can’t wait!!

Because it is such a long flight, I thought I would detail what I am going to include in my carry on bag just in case you are looking for some inspiration.

Carry On Bag

IMG_1648Sometimes it can be really hard to pick out exactly what you are going to take on the plane with you, especially when you are restricted with size and weight.

Technology
To me, technology is probably the most important part of my carry on luggage (except my passports and tickets) as this is what is going to keep me entertained. I preload a lot of my favourite shows and movies (Sex and The City, Clueless, Legally Blonde!) onto my iPad as this can last a long time when it’s put on flight mode.

I will also add in my laptop with some shows also as well as my music. A laptop is also really great to have in the airport as they almost always have free wifi. Online window shopping can help those stopovers pass quite quickly!!

My camera is an essential piece of my luggage however I was using it to take these photos so it was not included in the pictures. Of course I can’t forget my headphones as they are great for tuning out all of the noise around me and my iPhone….do any of us go anywhere without this??

Passport/Tickets
Please don’t put these in your checked luggage accidentally! I store all of these safely in my travel wallet which I found here.

Reading Material
I will always include a light, easy to read book in my hand luggage. I will also normally pick up a magazine or two once I am in the airport.

Others
A very important inclusion is a pen, especially on international flights as you don’t want to be one of the 100 other people that asks the flight attendant for a pen to complete your immigration card. I will also take onboard an empty drink bottle that I can refill once I have passed through security so I know I will have water between takeoff and when they come around with the food & drink cart. Finally I will include a lip balm and hand cream just to help keep hydrated.

Makeup Bag

IMG_1651

First rule of carry on makeup/liquids is that it needs to be less than 100ml in individual containers that can fit in a clear plastic bag that does not exceed 1,000ml! I know that some airlines and countries are more lenient than others however it’s really not worth the risk if you can avoid it!

I always include the following products so that you can freshen up during the flight as well as just before you land so you feel put together when you have to tackle the airport/luggage collection/taxi pick up/hotel checkin!

  • Makeup Wipes
  • Hydrating face cream
  • Hydrating multipurpose oil
  • Bite Beauty Lip Mask – the most hydrating lip mask in the world
  • Mini travel toothpaste
  • Makeup mist – this one include Aloe, Green Tea and Cucumber making it nice and refreshing for your skin
  • CC Cream
  • Concealer
  • Tinted brow gel
  • Mini mascara
  • Makeup brush
  • Marc Jacobs Rollerball Perfume
  • Mini travel makeup bag

The Bag

IMG_1654

I recently purchased this bag as my carry on bag. I really like it because it meets the size restrictions of all airlines however is big enough to fit everything in. If you are interested I picked it up from Colette Hayman which can be found here.

Have a lovely week everyone x

Leave a Reply

