Beauty

Makeup Dupes

Hi everyone,

I hope everyone is having a lovely weekend. I have just returned from an amazing 4 week holiday exploring the US which was so much fun.

I don’t know about you but sometimes I use premium products because nothing can come close to it’s quality, however other times there are more affordable options that can be just as great or in some cases even better than the premium product.

I have put a number of products to the test and picked out some of my favourite dupes for you all. Some are well known, some are ones that I think are a great find!

Eyeshadow Palette
Probably the most obvious of all the options found in this test, the latest Covergirl Eyeshadow palettes are a great dupe for the Urban Decay Naked palettes. Covergirl have made no reservations about the fact that they designed this product with the intention to be a dupe for the UD version, in fact the packaging actually states ‘Shades like a leading $50 eyeshadow palette’ (cheeky cheeky!).

IMG_2101

IMG_2104

Quick Compare
Urban Decay Naked 2 Basics Palette,  $47.00 AUD
~ 6 cool toned shades, all matte
~ quality packaging with mirror
~ highly pigmented, buttery shadow formula

Covergirl TruNaked Nudes Palette, $11.49 USD
~ 8 cool toned shades, 4 matte & 4 shimmer
~ no mirror with packaging
~ shadow formula is nice for the price, although not as creamy as the UD shadows

My Choice
I tend to reach for the Urban Decay palette at home because I really love the colour Frisk for everyday wear so for this I would choose the UD option. This being said though if I were travelling I would choose the Covergirl palette as it has a good mix of matte & shimmer colours to create a range of looks.

CC Cream
I love using a CC cream on days where I want to feel like I am wearing something, but it is very natural looking. The IT Cosmetics CC cream comes very highly regarded in the beauty industry and is a really great product however I think I have found a home grown gem with the Chi Chi Cosmetics Super CC Cream.

IMG_2140

Quick Compare
IT Cosmetics CC+ Illumination $38.00 USD
~ Contains great anti ageing products & serum leaving your skin looking glowing after use
~ Contains SPF 50+
~ Smells amazing
~ very light coverage, just covers redness

Chi Chi Cosmetics Super CC Cream $29.95 AUD
~ Contains anti ageing products, including caviar extract
~ SPF 30+
~ also smells great
~ light to medium coverage which is buildable

My Choice
I really like both of these products and would recommend each one however if I had to choose one, I would pick the Chi Chi CC Cream because it does offer a more flawless coverage.

Mascara
IMG_2111

Quick Compare
Tarte Lights Camera Flashes, $27.00 AUD
~ Bristle brush
~ provides definition & volume to your lashes
~ cute gold and purple packaging
~ lasts a really long time, no flaking

Chi Chi Cosmetics Super CC Cream $10.99 USD
~ Rubber brush
~ provides definition & volume to your lashes
~ sleek matte black & metallic soft pink packaging
~ product does flake a little after a long day of wear

My Choice
I have to choose the premium brand for mascara because the Tarte mascara just lasts better throughout the day on your lashes without flaking.

Bronzer

IMG_2110

Quick Compare
Benefit Hoola Bronzer $26 AUD (mini) $51 AUD (full sized)
~ very creamy and pigmented, blends really easily
~ neutral/cool toned which is perfect for contouring

E.L.F Bronzed Beauty Palette $6.00 USD 
~ very creamy, not as heavily pigmented as the Benefit Hoola
~ neutral/cool toned, perfect for contouring
~ four colours to choose from the palette

My Choice
I would choose the E.L.F. palette for the reason that the colours are not as heavily pigmented, making it really easy to use for a natural look. You also get 4 colours for a lot less than the price of one Benefit colour.

Blush
There are a lot of dupes on the market for the Nars Orgasm Blush, however this is one that I have found works really well for me.

IMG_2106

IMG_2107

Quick Compare
Nars Orgasm $47.00 AUD
~ slightly more coral and warm toned
~ more ‘glitter’ affect than illuminating
~ very pigmented

Maybelline Hi-Light Blush Pink Rose $13.96 AUD
~ cooler toned, slightly more ‘baby pink’ colour than the Nars Orgasm
~ very illuminating affect, leaves skin looking naturally glory
~ as can be seen in these images the product can break apart easily in the packaging 😦

My Choice
The Maybelline Hi-Light Blush is probably one of my all time favourite blushes so I would have to choose this one. It just looks so natural and flushed on the skin so I would highly recommend.

Perfume
I have a perfume obsession and collect perfumes from all different designers and scent groups. Not often do I come across two that are similar however I have found the perfect dupe!

IMG_2112

Quick Compare
Michael Kors 100ml $119.00 AUD
~ more rich & woodier scent
Kim Kardashian 100ml $29.99
~ slightly fruity & sweet scent

My Choice
I have to choose the Michael Kors option out of these two, however I do own and continue to repurchase both of these products. The Michael Kors Perfume just has a more natural scent while Kim’s perfume is a little more sweet and synthetic smelling.

Thanks for reading, have a great week everyone!

2 thoughts on “Makeup Dupes

Leave a Reply

